Momoko Kuroda

Momoko Kuroda (b. 1938 in Tochigi Prefecture) is one of the most highly-respected haiku poets in Japan today. She has published five collections of haiku, and authored or co-authored another 22 prose works including essays, season- word compendiums, books on haiku for beginners, and a two-volume set of interviews with notable Showa-era poets. Her first haiku collection earned her the Modern Haiku Women award and the Haiku Association New Poet award.

In 2011 she was awarded the Dakotsu prize, Japan's most prestigious haiku award. She is a haiku selector for the Nihon Keizai Shimbun weekly Sunday haiku column, and a frequent haiku selector for NHK television. She is on the jury of several national and regional haiku contests, including the annual Mainichi Shimbun haiku award.

In 1990, she founded her own haiku organization, AOI, with a nationwide membership of several thousand. All this she accomplished while working full-time at Hakuhodo, a Tokyo-based advertising firm, until her retirement at age 60.

Titles by Author

I Wait For The Moon

I Wait For The Moon

by Momoko Kuroda, commentary by Abigail Friedman

Momoko Kuroda (b. 1938) is a remarkable haiku spirit and a powerfully independent Japanese woman.